Newsletter Signup




Board of Directors

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Board of Directors, initially composed of Ken's family, friends and principal caregivers, has grown to 25 members. Committees include Business Development, External Relations and Development, Finance, Governance, Programs and Thought Leadership and are made of up Board members as well as other outside experts. 

Ellen Cohen, MSW, President

Lynn Wiatrowski, Chair
Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Betsy Pingree Frawley, Vice Chair

Clare Villari, Treasurer

William Knowlton, Clerk
Partner, Ropes & Gray

Board Members

Beverly Armstrong
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Paratek Pharmaceuticals

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN
Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist, Massachusetts General Hospital

Peter A. Biagetti
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Robert K. Coughlin
President and CEO, Massachusetts Biotechnology Council

Richard Doherty
President, Association of Independent Colleges and Universities in Massachusetts (AICUM)

Andrew Dreyfus
President & Chief Executive Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Marsha H. Fanucci
Board member, Alnylan Pharmaceuticals

George V. Hager, Jr.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Genesis HealthCare

Ruth Kilduff, RN 
Managing Principal, Integro Insurance Brokers

Thomas Lynch, MD
Director, Yale Cancer Center, and Physician-in-Chief, Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven

Sharon McNally, ex officio
Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office, and Chief of Staff, Dovetail Health

Clare Midgley
Chief Communications Officer, The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer and Director, Department of Medicine, Massachusetts General Hospital

James Roosevelt , Jr.
President & Chief Executive Officer, Tufts Health Plan

Eric Schultz
President & Chief Executive Officer, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Thomas P. Sellers 
Senior Director, Patient Advocacy & Corporate Philanthropy, Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company

Tony Starr
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo 

Richard Walsh
President & Chief Executive Officer, Walsh Brothers

Honorary Board Members
Michael Astrue
Charlie Baker
Olivia Cheng
Howard Cohen
Becky Levin
Joseph Mullany
Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD
Carol Schwartz, MSW
Eric Schwartz, MD
Kate Walsh
Daniel Wofford
Marilyn Yager

Legal Counsel
Stephen M. Weiner
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

Leadership Council
The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of more than 30 members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in the organization.


Sharon McNally
Tony Starr

Council Members

Phillips Axten, JD
Michael Berkowitz
Michael Blau
Liz Brody Gluck
Nancy L. Cahners
Joseph A. Chazan, MD
Andrea Cohen, MSW
Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Laurie Cowan
Ralph DiPisa
Jon DuBois, MD
Wendy Everett
Kerry Flynn
Beth Freeman
Diane Gilworth, NP
Glen Giovannetti
Phil Johnston
Jeffrey Kraines, MD
Rick Kobus
Richard Lynch
Eliane Markoff
Brooke Meltzer
Andrea Mintz
Joyce Murphy
Jennifer Pline
Peter Resnick
Jan Rose
Tom Simons
Steven Sisselman
Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
John Yozell 
Peter Zane 

New York Advisory Council 
The New York Advisory Council is a group of engaged professionals who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to further expanding the work of the Schwartz Center into New York. 

Council Members

Michael D. Berkowitz
Beth-Ann Ditkoff, MD
Joan Leiman, PhD
Claire Marx, MSW
Susan Mirsky
Lois Perelson-Gross
Meryl Rosofsky, MD
Susie West