Newsletter Signup


Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award®


2014 Nominations are Now Open!

Do you know a doctor, nurse or other caregiver who treats patients with extraordinary compassion? Read the instructions below to learn how to nominate him or her for the 2014 Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award®! Click here to access the 2014 nomination form.

Each year since 1999, the Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare has honored one extraordinary healthcare provider with the Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award. The award is one of the region’s most prestigious honors in healthcare.

Who can be nominated?

Nominees must work in a health-related organization or practice, such as a long-term care facility, community health center, outpatient clinic, hospice, visiting nurse association or hospital. Any paid caregiver or team of caregivers with direct patient contact in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont is eligible. Nominees can include: home health aides, nurses , certified nursing assistants, physical therapists, occupational therapists, doctors, chaplains, social workers, physician assistants, psychologists, and teams of caregivers.*

What qualities does the Center look for?

The award recognizes those who embody characteristics of compassionate care, including:
  • Communicating sensitively with patients and loved ones;
  • Listening carefully, showing empathy and instilling hope;
  • Respecting patients’ values, culture, choices and decisions;
  • Understanding the significance of patients’ families and communities.

Click here to read about our 2013 finalists!

What are the guidelines?

  • Eligible nominees must be a paid employee working directly with patients in the states of Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, or Vermont.
  • Nominees will be asked to submit a personal statement along with an optional resume, and have the option to submit supporting materials such as articles or letters written by patients or colleagues. Materials submitted will not be returned.
  • Only completed nominations will be considered.
  • Nominations should not include video or audio recordings of any kind.
  • Nominations should not be bound in any permanent manner. If they are received in this way, you will be asked to resubmit the nomination.
  • All 2014 nominations (with the exception of the recipient and four finalists) will be considered for two consecutive years. Nominees will be contacted by a staff member in early 2015 with information on how to be considered for a second nomination cycle.

How do I nominate someone?

Click here to access the 2014 nomination form.

Please note all nominations must be completed at initial entry. There are no opportunities to save information and return to the form. 

To request a paper copy of the nomination form, please contact Sheri Abadi, Program Manager at 617-724-7576.

What happens next?

After your nomination is submitted, your nominee will receive notice by email that he or she was nominated and at that time we will request a written personal statement. Once the nomination period is closed, a regional review committee will choose one recipient and four finalists to be recognized at The Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner, to be held in Boston on November 20, 2014. The recipient will receive a $5,000 award, and have the opportunity to share thoughts about compassion in healthcare with nearly 2,000 dinner guests. The four finalists will receive $1,000 each. All nominees will be contacted in mid-summer with notice of their nomination status.

*A team nomination must adhere to the following guidelines: A team is defined as a group of caregivers that works together to provide compassionate care to patients to maximize their sense of well-being and improve their health outcomes. The team can be responsible for the care of patients during a single extraordinary event or circumstance, or on an ongoing basis. Multidisciplinary teams are strongly encouraged. No fewer than three members will constitute a team for the purposes of this award. If the team has more than five members, the team will be responsible for selecting five representatives to receive the award who represent the essential qualities and values of the team.