Board of Directors

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Board of Directors, initially composed of Ken’s family, friends, and principal caregivers, has grown to 20 members. Committees include Development, Finance, Governance, Programs and Thought Leadership and are made of up Board members as well as other outside experts.



Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President

Sharon McNally, Chair
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Mark E. Reynolds, Vice Chair
President, CRICO

Candace Young, Treasurer
Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up

Jo Frances Meyer, Clerk
Executive Director, Boston Landmarks Orchestra


Board Members


Michael L. Blau, ex officio
Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Michael Carson
President and CEO, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Robert K. Coughlin
President and CEO, Massachusetts Biotechnology Council

Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP
CEO and Co-Founder, Iora Health

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex

George V. Hager, Jr.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Genesis HealthCare

Ruth Kilduff, RN

Christopher Lathan, MD, MS, MPH
Medical Director, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center
Founder and Faculty Director, Cancer Care Equity Program, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Joyce A. Murphy
2019 Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, Harvard University

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts General Hospital

Jean-Paul A. Rebillard
President, MedPro Specialty, MedPro Group

Jay Shiland
Partner, MTS Health Partners LP

Marjorie Stanzler

Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP
Chief Medical Officer, AARP


Honorary Board Members

Michael J. Astrue
Charlie Baker
Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN
Peter A. Biagetti
Olivia Cheng
Howard Cohen
Richard Doherty
Andrew Dreyfus
Betsy Pingree Frawley
William Knowlton
Becky Levin
Thomas Lynch, MD
Clare Midgley
Joseph Mullany
Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD
James Roosevelt, Jr.
Eric Schultz
Eric Schwartz, MD
Tony Starr
Rev. Judith Swahnberg
Kate Walsh
Lynn Wiatrowski
Daniel Wofford
Marilyn Yager


Legal Counsel

Stephen Weiner
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo


Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of more than 20 members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in the organization.



Kerry A. Flynn
Michael L. Blau


Council Members

Marsha Alperin
Bruce Auerbach, MD, FACEP
Richard C. Bane
Andrea Cohen, MSW
Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Ralph DiPisa
Jon DuBois, MD
Amanda Hall
Phil Johnston
Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
Kimberly Langer
Richard Lynch
Jennifer Pline
Peter Resnick
Robin Richman, MD
Jan Rose
Tom Simons
Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
Peter Zane