Schwartz Center leadership

We are fortunate to have an experienced, skilled and diverse leadership committed to compassionate, patient-centered care.

Board of Directors

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Board of Directors, initially composed of Ken’s family, friends, and principal caregivers, has grown to 21 members. Committees include Development, Finance, Governance, and are made up of Board members as well as other outside experts.


Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President

Ruth Kilduff, RN, Chair
Former Chair of US Operations, Integro Insurance Brokers

Sharon McNally, Vice Chair
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff,
Connors Family Office

Clare Villari, Treasurer

Joyce A. Murphy, Clerk
Executive Vice Chancellor, Commonwealth Medicine

Board Members

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN
Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist, Massachusetts General Hospital

Peter A. Biagetti
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts
General Hospital

Robert K. Coughlin
President and CEO, Massachusetts Biotechnology Council

Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP
CEO and Co-Founder, Iora Health

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex

Betsy Pingree Frawley

George V. Hager, Jr.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Genesis HealthCare

Thomas Lynch, MD
Chief Scientific Officer, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts
General Hospital

Mark E. Reynolds
President, CRICO

Eric Schultz
President & Chief Executive Officer, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Marjorie Stanzler

Tony Starr, ex officio
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

Lynn Wiatrowski
Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Candace Young
Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up

Honorary Board Members
  • Michael J. Astrue
  • Charlie Baker
  • Olivia Cheng
  • Howard Cohen
  • Richard Doherty
  • Andrew Dreyfus
  • William Knowlton
  • Becky Levin
  • Clare Midgley
  • Joseph Mullany
  • Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD
  • James Roosevelt, Jr.
  • Eric Schwartz, MD
  • Rev. Judith Swahnberg
  • Kate Walsh
  • Daniel Wofford
  • Marilyn Yager
Legal Counsel

Stephen Weiner
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of nearly 30 members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in the organization.

  • Sharon McNally
  • Tony Starr
Council Members
  • Marsha Alperin
  • Richard C. Bane
  • Michael Berkowitz
  • Michael Blau
  • Nancy L. Cahners
  • Joseph A. Chazan, MD
  • Andrea Cohen, MSW
  • Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
  • Ralph DiPisa
  • Jon DuBois, MD
  • Glen Giovannetti
  • Liz Brody Gluck
  • Amanda Hall
  • Phil Johnston
  • Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
  • Richard Lynch
  • Steve Mitus
  • Jennifer Pline
  • Peter Resnick
  • Robin Richman, MD
  • Jan Rose
  • Tom Simons
  • Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
  • Lucy Watson-Baker
  • John Yozell
  • Peter Zane
Council Members
  • Michael D. Berkowitz
  • Diane Blum
  • Beth-Ann Ditkoff, MD
  • Cleve Langton
  • Joan Leiman, PhD
  • Claire Marx, MSW
  • Brooke Meltzer
  • Susan Mirsky
  • Lois Perelson-Gross
  • Jim Romanelli
  • Meryl Rosofsky, MD
  • Susie West

Elizabeth Hickman
Interim Executive Director

Beth Lown, MD
Chief Medical Officer

Stephanie J. Adler Yuan, MS
Director of Education and Training

Sheri Carey
Director of Member Operations

Lisa Crane
Director of Individual and Foundation Giving

Michele Driscoll
Executive Assistant

Michael Goldberg, MD
Scholar in Residence

Ahleum Choi Morris
Data Coordinator

Christina Parks
Director of Development Operations and Communication

Ratthana Pheap
Senior Accountant

Kathy Scopin, BSN, PHN, RN
Member Experience Advisor

Laurie Tellis
Systems Integration Manager

Peter Underhill
Director of Finance

Plus-img Minus-img