2018 Annual Report

Schwartz Center Leadership
We are fortunate to have an experienced, skilled and diverse leadership committed to compassionate, patient-centered care

Board of Directors

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Board of Directors, initially composed of Ken’s family, friends, and principal caregivers, has grown to 20 members. Committees include Development, Finance, Governance, Programs and Thought Leadership and are made of up Board members as well as other outside experts.


  • Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President
  • Ruth Kilduff, RN, Chair
  • Sharon McNally, Vice Chair
    President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office
  • Candace Young, Treasurer
    Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up
  • Mark E. Reynolds, Clerk
    President, CRICO

Board Members

  • Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN
    Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Michael Blau, ex officio
    Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo
  • M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
    Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Robert K. Coughlin
    President and CEO, Massachusetts Biotechnology Council
  • Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP
    CEO and Co-Founder, IoraHealth
  • Kerry A. Flynn
    Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex
  • George V. Hager, Jr.
    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Genesis Health Care
  • Jo Frances Meyer
    Executive Director, Boston Landmarks Orchestra
  • Joyce A. Murphy
    2019 Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, Harvard University
  • Britain Nicholson, MD
    Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts General Hospital
  • Jean-Paul A. Rebillard
    President, MedPro Specialty, MedPro Group
  • Marjorie Stanzler
  • Clare Villari
  • Lynn Wiatrowski
    Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
  • Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP
    Chief Medical Officer, AARP

Honorary Board Members

  • Michael J. Astrue
  • Charlie Baker
  • Peter A. Biagetti
  • Olivia Cheng
  • Howard Cohen
  • Richard Doherty
  • Andrew Dreyfus
  • Betsy Pingree Frawley
  • William Knowlton
  • Becky Levin
  • Thomas Lynch,MD
  • Clare Midgley
  • Joseph Mullany
  • Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD
  • James Roosevelt, Jr.
  • Eric Schultz
  • Eric Schwartz,MD
  • Tony Starr
  • Rev. Judith Swahnberg
  • Kate Walsh
  • Daniel Wofford
  • Marilyn Yager

Legal Counsel

  • Stephen Weiner
    Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky and Popeo

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of 22 members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in the organization.


  • Michael Blau
  • Kerry Flynn

Council Members

  • Marsha Alperin
  • Richard C. Bane
  • Andrea Cohen, MSW
  • Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
  • Ralph DiPisa
  • Jon DuBois, MD
  • Amanda Hall
  • Phil Johnston
  • Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
  • Richard Lynch
  • Steve Mitus
  • Jennifer Pline
  • Peter Resnick
  • Robin Richman, MD
  • Jan Rose
  • Tom Simons
  • Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
  • Lucy Watson-Baker
  • John Yozell
  • Peter Zane


  • Matt Herndon
    Chief Executive Officer
  • Elizabeth Hickman
    Chief Operating Officer
  • Beth Lown, MD
    Chief Medical Officer
  • Stephanie J. Adler Yuan, MS
    Director of Education and Training
  • Cathy Burke
    Director of Communications
  • Sheri Carey
    Director of Member Operations
  • Lisa Crane
    Director of Individual and Foundation Giving
  • Michele Driscoll
    Executive Assistant
  • Anna Ferrato
    Member Experience Coordinator
  • Michael Goldberg, MD
    Scholar in Residence
  • Clara Lauterwasser
    Systems Manager
  • Christina Parks
    Director of Development Operations and Communication
  • Ratthana Pheap
    Senior Accountant
  • Kathy Scopin, BSN, PHN, RN
    Member Experience Advisor
  • Jennifer Rossman
    Data Coordinator
  • Laurie Tellis
    Systems Integration Manager
  • Melissa Thaler
    Development & Events Coordinator
  • Peter Underhill
    Director of Finance

Learn more about the 2019 Conference

Learn More & Register
Collage Photo Band