Board of Directors


Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President

Mark E. Reynolds, Chair
President, CRICO

Jean-Paul A. Rebillard, Vice Chair and Treasurer
President, MedPro Specialty, MedPro Group

Jo Frances Meyer, Clerk
Director, Puddingstone Consulting

Board Members

Rana Awdish, MD, FCCP, FACP
Director, Pulmonary Hypertension Program, Henry Ford Health System
Medical Director, Care Experience, Henry Ford Health System
Associate Professor of Medicine, Clinician Educator FTA, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Robyn Begley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Chief Executive Officer, AONL
Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, AHA

Michael L. Blau, ex officio
Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex

Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Esq.
Board Chair, Beth Israel Lahey Health System

Sharon McNally
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Joyce A. Murphy
2019 Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, Harvard University

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts General Hospital

Angela Patterson, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP
Chief Nurse Practitioner Officer, CVS MinuteClinic
Vice President, CVS Health

Jay Shiland
Partner, MTS Health Partners LP

Marjorie Stanzler

Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP
Chief Medical Officer, AARP

Candace Young
Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up

Legal Counsel

Kate Stewart

Honorary Board Members


Betsy Pingree Frawley

Tony Starr
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Giovsky and Popeo


Charlie D. Baker
Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN

Peter A. Biagetti
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Giovsky and Popeo

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Howard Cohen
Principal, Beacon Communities

Robert K. Coughlin
Managing Director, Life Sciences, JLL

Richard Doherty

Andrew Dreyfus

Ruth Kilduff, RN

William Knowlton
Partner, Ropes & Gray

Thomas Lynch, MD

Clare Midgley

James Roosevelt, Jr.
Counsel, Verrill & Dana

Eric Schultz

Eric Schwartz, MD

Rev. Judith Swahnberg

Kate Walsh
President & CEO, Boston Medical Center

Lynn Wiatrowski
Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Daniel Wofford
Senior Consultant, 10,000 Friends of Pennsylvania

Marilyn Yager
Senior Policy Advisor, Alston & Bird, LLP

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in the organization.



Michael L. Blau
Retired Partner, Foley and Lardner

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief IP Counsel, Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Council Members

Richard Aubut
Retired President and CEO, South Shore Hospital
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, UMass Dartmouth

Richard C. Bane
Chairman, BaneCare

Blaire Bernard
SVP, General Counsel, Iora Health

Andrea Cohen, MSW
Co-Founder and CEO, Houseworks

Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Social Worker, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ethan Crain
Managing Director, Northeast Zone Healthcare Practice Leader, Marsh

Peggy Crawford, PhD
Cranberry Hospice

Jon DuBois, MD
Cancer Services, Hematology, Oncology, Mass General Cancer Center at Emerson Hospital – Bethke

Michael Goldberg, MD 
Scholar in Residence, The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare

Phil Johnston
President & CEO, Phillip W. Johnston Associates

Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
Senior Medical Director, EMD Serono

Richard Lynch
Chief Operating Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Bill Mandell
Partner, Pierce & Mandell, P.C.

Pamela Mann, MSSA
Interfaith Chaplain, Out Patient Palliative Care at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Jan Rose
Vice President, Government Affairs, McDermott, Quilty & Miller LLP

Beth Sampath
Vice President, Quality Assurance, Benchmark Senior Living

Terry Stancin, PhD, ABPP
Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry & Psychology, MetroHealth

Bessie Manley Szum, RN, MPA/HA, NE-BC
Director Of Patient Safety, CRICO

Tamar Thompson
VP, Government Affairs and Policy, Alexion Pharmaceuticals

Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
Director of Psychological Services, Boston IVF

Jennifer Valenzuela
Executive Director, The Children’s Trust

Jeffrey Wisch, MD
Distinguished Physician, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Peter Zane
Former President, Kryptonite Corporation

Edit Page