Board of Directors


Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President

Sharon McNally, Chair
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Mark E. Reynolds, Vice Chair
President, CRICO

Candace Young, Treasurer
Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up

Jo Frances Meyer, Clerk
Director, Puddingstone Consulting

Board Members

Michael L. Blau, ex officio
Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Michael Carson
President and CEO, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care

Robert K. Coughlin
Managing Director, Life Sciences, JLL

Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP
CEO and Co-Founder, Iora Health

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex

George V. Hager, Jr.
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Genesis HealthCare

Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Esq.
Retired Partner, Mintz Levin

Christopher Lathan, MD, MS, MPH
Medical Director, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute at St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center
Founder and Faculty Director, Cancer Care Equity Program, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Joyce A. Murphy
2019 Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, Harvard University

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts General Hospital

Angela Patterson, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP
Nurse Practitioner Officer, CVS MinuteClinic, Vice President, CVS Health

Jean-Paul A. Rebillard
President, MedPro Specialty, MedPro Group

Jeff Sánchez
Senior Advisor, Rasky Partners

Jay Shiland
Partner, MTS Health Partners LP

Marjorie Stanzler

Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP
Chief Medical Officer, AARP

Legal Counsel

Steve Weiner
Member and Founding Chair, Health Law Practice, Mintz Levin

Honorary Board Members


Betsy Pingree Frawley

Tony Starr


Charlie Baker

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN

Peter A. Biagetti

Howard Cohen

Richard Doherty

Andrew Dreyfus

Ruth Kilduff, RN

William Knowlton

Thomas Lynch, MD

Clare Midgley

Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD

James Roosevelt, Jr.

Eric Schultz

Eric Schwartz, MD

Rev. Judith Swahnberg

Kate Walsh

Lynn Wiatrowski

Daniel Wofford

Marilyn Yager

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in advancing the organization.


Michael L. Blau
Retired Partner, Foley and Lardner

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief IP Counsel, Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Council Members

Richard Aubut
Retired President and CEO, South Shore Hospital
Chairman, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Foundation Board

Richard C. Bane
Chairman, BaneCare

Blaire Bernard
SVP, General Counsel, Iora Health

Andrea Cohen, MSW
Co-Founder and CEO, Houseworks

Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Social Worker, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ethan Crain
Managing Director, Northeast Zone Healthcare Practice Leader

Jon DuBois, MD
Cancer Services, Hematology, Oncology, Mass General Cancer Center at Emerson Hospital – Bethke

Amanda Hall
Director and Senior Counsel, Carbon Black, Inc.

Phil Johnston
President & CEO, Phillip W. Johnston Associates

Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
Senior Medical Director, EMD Serono

Kimberly Langer
Product Strategy Director, Evernorth

Donielle R. Larson

Richard Lynch
Chief Operating Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Bill Mandell
Partner, Pierce & Mandell, P.C.

Pamela Mann, MSSA
Interfaith Chaplain, Outpatient Palliative Care, Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital

Jan Rose
Vice President, Government Affairs, McDermott, Quilty & Miller LLP

Terry Stancin, PhD, ABPP
Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry & Psychology, MetroHealth

Bessie Manley Szum, RN, MPA/HA, NE-BC
Director Of Patient Safety, CRICO

Tamar Thompson
VP, Government Affairs and Policy, Alexion Pharmaceuticals

Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
Director of Psychological Services, Boston IVF

Jennifer Valenzuela
Chief People and Equity Officer, Health Leads

Jeffrey Wisch, MD
Distinguished Physician, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Peter Zane
Former President, Kryptonite Corporation

Edit Page