

## **MEDIA ADVISORY**

## 19<sup>th</sup> Annual Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner Celebrates the Beginning of the Schwartz Center's 20<sup>th</sup> Anniversary Year

2014 Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award® recipient and finalists to be honored at Schwartz Center event before 2,000 attendees

WHAT: The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare will host its 19th Annual

Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner, with guests including more than 2,000 leaders from hospitals, health plans, and health-related associations, as

well as members of the biotech, pharmaceutical and medical device industries.

WHY: The 2014 dinner will mark the beginning of the Schwartz Center's 20th year of

bringing together patients, caregivers, policymakers, educators and researchers to make compassionate care a national healthcare priority. The dinner will also honor this year's Compassionate Caregiver Award® recipient and finalists, who exemplify extraordinary

compassion in caring for patients and families.

WHEN: Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014 at 5 p.m. ET

WHERE: Boston Convention & Exhibition Center

415 Summer St., Boston, MA 02210

**PROGRAM:** The dinner and formal program will begin at 7 p.m. ET with speakers and videos

featuring poignant patient and caregiver stories. The speakers are **Tom Lynch**, **MD**, Director, Yale Cancer Center, Physician-in-Chief, Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven and Schwartz Center Board; **Lynn Wiatrowski**, Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch and Schwartz Center Board Chair; **Julie Rosen**, Executive Director, Schwartz Center; **John Fernandez**, President & CEO, Massachusetts Eye and Ear and Schwartz Center Dinner Chair; **Sharon McNally**, Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office, Schwartz Center Board and Leadership Council, and Dinner Chair; **Robert G. Urban**, **PhD**, Head, Johnson & Johnson Innovation, Boston and Schwartz Center Dinner Chair; and **Kimberly A. Smith**, Managing Director, Witt/Kieffer and Schwartz

Center Dinner Chair.

Compassionate Caregiver Award finalists who will be honored at the dinner include: **Scot Bateman**, **MD**, Director of the Pediatric Intensive Care Unit at UMass Memorial Children's Medical Center in Worcester, Massachusetts; **Cranberry Hospice & Palliative Care Team** at Beth Israel Deaconess-Plymouth in Plymouth, Massachusetts; **Deborah Ferretti**, **MS**, **APRN**, nurse practitioner on the Wolfson Palliative Care Team at The Hospital of Central Connecticut in New Britain, Connecticut; **Thea James**, **MD**, an emergency medicine physician at Boston Medical Center in Boston, Massachusetts; and **Kathryn Pratt**, **RN**, **BSN**, nurse coordinator, Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New

Haven in New Haven, Connecticut.

**CONTACT:** Amanda Dalia, Communications Manager

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare | www.theschwartzcenter.org

617-724-6763 | adalia@theschwartzcenter.org