The Schwartz Center congratulates the finalists for the 2013 Schwartz Center Compassionate Caregiver Award®. Watch a video of our five finalists.


Rachael Bedard, MD – Finalist

Cambridge Health Alliance

Cambridge, Massachusetts

Rachael Bedard is a chief resident at Cambridge Health Alliance who is pursuing a palliative care fellowship and has been lauded for her dedication to making compassionate care a priority in even the most trying situations. “Her compassion has no bounds – touching patients, staff, and peers alike,” says a colleague.




71HEW14FR5U333PPradeep Chopra, MD – 2013 Awardee

Interventional Pain Management Center of Rhode Island

Pawtucket, Rhode Island

Pradeep Chopra cares for patients from across the U.S. who suffer from rare pain disorders. As one patient wrote of him, “Patients with these disorders get dismissed so easily by the medical profession. We then get nervous and afraid every time we see someone new. He gave me faith in the medical community again.”





Raul Laguarda, MD, FCCP – Finalist

MetroWest Medical Center, Leonard Morse Campus

Natick, Massachusetts

Raul Laguarda is an internist and director of medical education who is known for taking a special interest in his patients’ lives and developing long-lasting connections with them. A colleague notes that “Raul treats whole families and whole communities with a personal touch.”





P. Lynn Ouellette – Finalist

Mid Coast Hospital

Brunswick, Maine

Lynn Ouellette is a psychiatrist with a special interest in postpartum depression who also provides care to AIDS orphans in Kenya during her annual volunteer trips. “This is the inherent value of being an advocate – conveying the fundamental message that people are worthwhile, have value, and deserve for you to stand up for them,” she says.





Barbara Segal, RN, MS – Finalist

Fletcher Allen Health Care

Burlington, Vermont

Barbara Segal is a clinical nurse specialist on Fletcher Allen’s Palliative Care Service, which she co-founded 15 years ago. She defines compassionate care as “the willingness to enter into another person’s experience, their suffering and vulnerability, and the attempt to comprehend what he or she is feeling.”