National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year® Award Past Recipients

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s award is one of the region’s most prestigious honors in healthcare, and is annually awarded to one caregiver who exemplifies what it means to provide compassionate care. The following is a list of past award winners:

2018 – Terry Stancin, PhD, ABPP
MetroHealth System

2017 – Rana Awdish, MD
Henry Ford Health System

2016 – Randi Kaplan, LMSW
Montefiore Health System

2015 – Rick Boyte, MD
The University of Mississippi Medical Center

2014 – Thea James, MD
Boston Medical Center

2013 – Pradeep Chopra, MD
Interventional Pain Management Center of Rhode Island

2012 – John Zawacki, MD
UMass Memorial Medical Center

2011 – Vilma Barrios, CNA
Hospice of the Good Shepherd

2010 – Haitian Mental Health Team
Cambridge Health Alliance

2009 – Amy Ship, MD
Internist, Division of General Medicine and Primary Care at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

2008 – Cynthia French, MS, NP
Pulmonary Medicine, Lung and Allergy Center, UMass Memorial Medical Center

2007 – Barbara Moscowitz, MSW, LICSW
Geriatric Social Worker, Massachusetts General Hospital Geriatric Medicine Unit

2006 – Cleopatra P. Ferrao, MS, FNP
Boston Medical Center

2005 – Paul Jodka, MD
Attending Physician, Adult Intensive Care Unit, Baystate Medical Center

2004 – Helen R. Mullen, RN
Pediatric Oncology Nurse, UMass Memorial Medical Center Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Clinic

2003 – Paula K. Rauch, MD
Founding Director, The Marjorie E. Korff PACT (Parenting at a Challenging Time) Program

2002 – Burton J. Polansky, MD
Emeritus Chief of Medicine and Cardiology, Signature Healthcare Brockton Hospital

2001 – Ann-Marie Thomas, MD
Staff Physiatrist/Internist, Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital

2000 – Judith Best-Lavigniac, MS, APN-BC, CNS
Clinical Director, Highpoint Treatment Center

1999 – Scott Pomeroy, MD, PhD
Neurologist-in-Chief, Children’s Hospital Boston