Dinner Leadership

Dinner Chairs

Robert Coughlin
Managing Director, JLL

Deborah Marcus
Executive, CAA Foundation

Travis A. McCready
Executive Director/National Practice Leader, U.S. Life Sciences Markets, JLL

Event Committee

Ellen R. Cohen, MSW
President, Schwartz Center Board

Kerry Flynn

Betsy Pingree Frawley and James M. Litton

Elizabeth Maringer and Jay Shiland

Sharon McNally
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Jo Frances Meyer
Director, Puddingstone Consulting

Mark Reynolds and Clare Reilly

Marjorie and Paul Stanzler

Peter and Ellen Zane

Board Members


Ellen R. Cohen, MSW

Mark E. Reynolds

Jean-Paul A. Rebillard
Vice Chair and Treasurer

Jo Frances Meyer


Legal Counsel

Kate Stewart


Rana Awdish, MD, FCCP, FACP

Robyn Begley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN

Michael L. Blau, ex officio

Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP

Kerry A. Flynn

Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Esq.

Sharon McNally

Joyce A. Murphy

Britain Nicholson, MD

Angela Patterson, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP

Jeff Sánchez

Jay Shiland

Marjorie Stanzler

Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP

Candace Young

Honorary Board Members


Betsy Pingree Frawley

Tony Starr


Charlie Baker

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN

Peter A. Biagetti

Howard Cohen

Richard Doherty

Andrew Dreyfus

Ruth Kilduff, RN

William Knowlton

Thomas Lynch, MD

Clare Midgley

Thomas G. Roberts, Jr., MD

James Roosevelt, Jr.

Eric Schultz

Eric Schwartz, MD

Rev. Judith Swahnberg

Kate Walsh

Lynn Wiatrowski

Daniel Wofford

Marilyn Yager

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in advancing the organization.


Michael L. Blau
Retired Partner, Foley and Lardner

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief IP Counsel, Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Council Members

Richard Aubut
Retired President and CEO, South Shore Hospital
Chairman, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Foundation Board

Richard C. Bane
Chairman, BaneCare

Blaire Bernard
SVP, General Counsel, Iora Health

Andrea Cohen, MSW
Co-Founder and CEO, Houseworks

Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Social Worker, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Ethan Crain
Managing Director, Northeast Zone Healthcare Practice Leader

Jon DuBois, MD
Cancer Services, Hematology, Oncology, Mass General Cancer Center at Emerson Hospital – Bethke

Amanda Hall
Director and Senior Counsel, Carbon Black, Inc.

Phil Johnston
President & CEO, Phillip W. Johnston Associates

Jeffrey L. Kraines, MD
Senior Medical Director, EMD Serono

Kimberly Langer
Product Strategy Director, Evernorth

Donielle R. Larson

Richard Lynch
Chief Operating Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Bill Mandell
Partner, Pierce & Mandell, P.C.

Pamela Mann, MSSA
Interfaith Chaplain, Outpatient Palliative Care, Beth Israel Deaconess Hospital

Jan Rose
Vice President, Government Affairs, McDermott, Quilty & Miller LLP

Terry Stancin, PhD, ABPP
Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry & Psychology, MetroHealth

Bessie Manley Szum, RN, MPA/HA, NE-BC
Director Of Patient Safety, CRICO

Tamar Thompson
VP, Government Affairs and Policy, Alexion Pharmaceuticals

Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
Director of Psychological Services, Boston IVF

Jennifer Valenzuela
Chief People and Equity Officer, Health Leads

Jeffrey Wisch, MD
Distinguished Physician, Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Peter Zane
Former President, Kryptonite Corporation

Schwartz Center Staff

Elizabeth Hickman
Interim Chief Executive Officer and COO
Beth Lown, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Stephanie J. Adler Yuan, MS
Director of Programs
Michele Babineau
Executive Assistant
Sheri Carey
Director of Member Operations
Jennifer Fiske
Member Experience Coordinator
Michael Goldberg, MD
Scholar in Residence
Casey Kudesia
Member Experience Advisor
Angelina McCoy
Member Experience Advisor
Christina Parks
Director of Communication
Tarik Doukkali
Senior Accountant
Melissa Restivo
Events and Sponsorship Manager
Leah Rybarczyk, LCSW
Member Experience Advisor
Kathy Scopin, BSN, PHN, RN
Member Experience Advisor
Laurie Tellis
Systems Integration Manager
Peter Underhill
Senior Director of Finance