Dinner Leadership

Dinner Chairs

Sree Chaguturu, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, CVS Health

Susan Donahue

Peter L. Slavin, MD
Operating Partner, Advent International and Former President, Massachusetts General Hospital


Event Committee

Ann Muschett and Michael Blau
Retired, Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP

Gloria Respress-Churchwell and Kevin B. Churchill, MD, President and CEO, Boston’s Children’s Hospital

Ellen Cohen, MSW, Founder, Schwartz Center Board

Wendy Cohen

Robert Coughlin, Managing Director, JLL

Ethan Crain, Managing Director, Northeast Health Practice Leader, Marsh McLennan

Michele and Robert Fields, Executive Vice President & Chief Clinical Officer, Beth Israel Lahey Health

Kerry A. Flynn

Betsy Pingree Frawley and James M. Litton

Elizabeth Maringer and Jay Shilled, Partner, MTS Health Partners LP

Sharon McNally, President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Jo Frances Meyer, Director, Puddingstone Consulting

Kendalle Burlin O’Connell, Esq., Chief Executive Officer & President, MassBio

Clare Reilly and Mark Reynolds, President & CEO CIRCO

Colette and Daniel Stanzler, Portfolio Manager, Beaumont Financial Partners, LLC

Marjorie and Paul Stanzler

Elizabeth Vernaglia, PhD and Lawrence Vernaglia, Partner, Foley and Lardner LLP

Peter and Ellen Zane 

Board Members


Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, Founder

Mark E. Reynolds, Chair
President & CEO, CRICO

Jean-Paul A. Rebillard, Vice Chair and Treasurer
President, MedPro Speciality, MedPro Group


Board Members

Rana Awdish, MD, FCCP, FACP
Director, Pulmonary Hypertension Program, Henry Ford Health System
Medical Director, Care Experience, Henry Ford Health System
Associate Professor of Medicine, Clinician Educator FTA, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Robyn Begley, DNP, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Chief Executive Officer, AONL
Senior Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, AHA

Michael L. Blau, ex officio
Partner, Foley & Lardner LLP

Ethan Crain
Managing Director, Northeast Healthcare Practice Leader, Marsh McLennan

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief Intellectual Property Counsel, Vertex

Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Esq.
Board Chair, Beth Israel Lahey Health System

Sharon McNally
President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office

Joyce A. Murphy
2019 Advanced Leadership Initiative Fellow, Harvard University

Britain Nicholson, MD
Senior Vice President for Development, Massachusetts General Hospital

Angela Patterson, DNP, FNP-BC, NEA-BC, FAANP
Chief Nurse Practitioner Officer, CVS MinuteClinic
Vice President, CVS Health

Jay Shiland
Partner, MTS Health Partners LP

Marjorie Stanzler

Charlotte Yeh, MD, FACEP
Chief Medical Officer, AARP

Candace Young
Owner and Founder, From The Ground Up

Legal Counsel

Kate Stewart


Honorary Board Members


Betsy Pingree Frawley

Tony Starr
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Giovsky and Popeo


Charlie D. Baker
Governor, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

Mimi Bartholomay, RN, MSN

Peter A. Biagetti
Member, Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Giovsky and Popeo

M. Lynn Buttolph, MD, PhD
Physician, Department of Psychiatry, Massachusetts General Hospital

Howard Cohen
Principal, Beacon Communities

Robert K. Coughlin
Managing Director, Life Sciences, JLL

Richard Doherty

Andrew Dreyfus

Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP

Ruth Kilduff, RN

William Knowlton
Partner, Ropes & Gray

Thomas Lynch, MD

Clare Midgley

James Roosevelt, Jr.
Counsel, Verrill & Dana

Eric Schultz

Eric Schwartz, MD

Rev. Judith Swahnberg

Kate Walsh

Stephen Weiner

Lynn Wiatrowski
Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch

Daniel Wofford
Senior Consultant, 10,000 Friends of Pennsylvania

Marilyn Yager
Senior Policy Advisor, Alston & Bird, LLP

Leadership Council

The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare’s Leadership Council is composed of members who recognize the importance of compassionate care as a critical issue, are committed to the work of the Schwartz Center, and are willing and able to take an active role in advancing the organization.


Michael L. Blau
Retired Partner, Foley and Lardner

Kerry A. Flynn
Vice President, Chief IP Counsel, Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Council Members

Richard Aubut
Retired President and CEO, South Shore Hospital
Chairman of the Board of Trustees, UMass Dartmouth

Richard C. Bane
Chairman, BaneCare

Wendy K. Cohen, LICSW
Social Worker, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Peggy Crawford, PhD
Cranberry Hospice

Jon DuBois, MD
Cancer Services, Hematology, Oncology, Mass General Cancer Center at Emerson Hospital – Bethke

Michael Goldberg, MD 
Scholar in Residence, The Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare

Richard Lynch
Chief Operating Officer, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts

Bill Mandell
Partner, Pierce & Mandell, P.C.

Pamela Mann, MSSA
Interfaith Chaplain, Out Patient Palliative Care at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

Jan Rose
Vice President, Government Affairs, McDermott, Quilty & Miller LLP

Beth Sampath
Vice President, Quality Assurance, Benchmark Senior Living

Terry Stancin, PhD, ABPP
Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry & Psychology, MetroHealth

Bessie Manley Szum, RN, MPA/HA, NE-BC
Director Of Patient Safety, CRICO

Tamar Thompson
VP, Government Affairs and Policy, Alexion Pharmaceuticals

Jeanie Ungerleider, LICSW
Director of Psychological Services, Boston IVF

Lawrence Vernaglia, Partner
Foley and Lardner LLP

Peter Zane
Former President, Kryptonite Corporation

Schwartz Center Staff

Elizabeth Hickman
Interim Chief Executive Officer and COO
Beth Lown, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Jessica Thompson Somol
Chief Development Officer
Michele Babineau
Executive Assistant
Sheri Carey
Senior Director of Member Operations
Julie Collier
Senior Director of Programs
Tarik Doukkali
Senior Accountant
Jennifer Fiske
Business Analyst
Michael Goldberg, MD
Scholar in Residence
Husam Hammad
Membership Associate
Casey Kudesia
Assistant Director of Programs
Suzee Lock
Training Specialist
Angelina McCoy
Member Experience Member
Jessica Moran-Macmaleese
Director of Individual Giving
Christina Parks
Director of Communications
Melissa Restivo
Events & Sponsorship Manager
Leah Rybarczyk
Member Experience Advisor
Elizabeth Santiago
Member Outreach Manager
Kathy Scopin, BSN, PHN, RN
Member Experience Anchor
Nicole Short
Development Data Manager
Laurie Tellis
Director of Information Systems
Peter Underhill
Senior Director of Finance