The Annual Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner

We are proud to recognize healthcare workers at our upcoming Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner, to be held on Thursday, November 3, 2022. We will celebrate the extraordinary acts of compassion of our National Compassionate Caregivers of the Year® awardees and raise money for programs to support the mental health and well-being of all healthcare professionals. More details will be shared soon.

If you have any questions, please contact us at


Save the Date for 2022!

November 3, 2022
More details to come!

2021 Keynote Speaker:

Leana S. Wen, MD, MSc, FAAEM

Public Health Professor, George Washington University
Author, “Lifelines: A Doctor’s Journey
in the Fight for Public Health”

2021 Program Host:

Mallika Marshall, MD

Emmy Award-winning Journalist and Physician
Health Reporter, WBZ-TV

2021 Honoree:

Peter L. Slavin, MD

Former President
Massachusetts General Hospital

2021 Performance:

Northwell Health Nurse Choir

2021 Dinner Chairs

Alexa B. Kimball, MD, MPH, President & CEO, Harvard Medical Faculty Physicians at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Inc.

Tamar Thompson, Head, Corporate Affairs, Alexion, AstraZeneca Rare Disease

2021 Regional Co-Chairs

Elizabeth Maringer and Jay Shiland (New York Metro)
Jean-Paul Rebillard, President, MedPro Specialty, MedPro Group (Mid-Atlantic)  

2021 Dinner Event Committee

Ellen R. Cohen, MSW, President, Schwartz Center Board
Robert K. Coughlin, Managing Director, Life Sciences, JLL
Rushika Fernandopulle, MD, MPP, CEO and Co-Founder, Iora Health
Kerry Flynn, Vice President, Chief IP Counsel, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Betsy Pingree Frawley and James M. Litton
Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Board Chair, Beth Israel Lahey Health System
Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., MD, President and Director, Fred Hutch
Sharon McNally, President, Camp Harbor View Foundation; Chief of Staff, Connors Family Office
Jo Frances Meyer, Director, Puddingstone Consulting
Clare Reilly and Mark Reynolds
Marjorie and Paul Stanzler
Lynn Wiatrowski, Executive Vice President, Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Peter and Ellen Zane

National Business Members
Chairman Circle
Massachusetts General Hospital  
Executive Circle
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts
Marsh McLennan
Leader Circle
Bank of America Merrill Lynch
Benchmark Senior Living
Genesis HealthCare
MedPro Group
Point32Health, Harvard Pilgrim Healthcare and Tufts Health Plan
Vertex Pharmaceuticals
2021 Organization Sponsors

Dinner Program Underwriter


NCCY Award Media Sponsor
Modern Healthcare


Leader – $100,000+
Massachusetts General Hospital
Mintz, Levin, Cohn, Ferris, Glovsky, and Popeo


Champion – $50,000-$99,999
Highland Street Foundation


Trustee – $25,000-$49,999
Alexion, AstraZeneca Rare Disease
Beth Israel Lahey Health


Benefactor – $10,000-$24,999
Benchmark Senior Living
CVS Health
Middleton & Company, Inc.


Patron – $5,000-$9,999
Beaumont Financial Partners
Boston Medical Center
The Colony Group
Hebrew SeniorLife
Ropes & Gray, LLP
Signature Healthcare Brockton Hospital
Sunstein LLP
Wentworth-Douglass Hospital


Friend – $3,500
Cambridge Health Alliance
Commonwealth Care Alliance
Massachusetts Society of Clinical Oncologists
MGH Institute of Health Professions

2021 Individual Sponsors

Founder – $100,000+
Ellen R. Cohen and Daniel Haber
Liz and Phill Gross


Champion – $50,000-$99,999
The Connors Family
John and Cindy Fish
Carl J. Martignetti
Marjorie and Paul Stanzler
Stephen and Roberta Weiner


Trustee – $25,000-$49,999
Anonymous (2)
Stephen Corman
Fran and Michael Goldberg
Jack and Kathy Shields


Benefactor – $10,000-$24,999
Michael J. Astrue and Laura W. Mali-Astrue
Peggy Crawford, PhD
Andrew Dreyfus
Ruth Kilduff, RN, and Jay Carrigan
In memory of Christian Minard
Ruth G. Koblenzer
Sharon and Brian McNally
Jo Frances Meyer
Mark Reynolds and Clare Reilly
Jay A. Shiland and Elizabeth Maringer
Jean Tempel and Peter Wilson
Lynn Wiatrowski and Joren C. Madsen, MD


Patron – $5,000-$9,999
Michael Blau and Ann Muschett
Howard Cohen and Myra Musicant
Wendy and Richard Cohen
Ethan E. Crain
Michael S. Feldberg and Ruth Lazarus
The Fischman Family (Nancy and Steven, Ben and Wendy, Laura Fischman and Tony Schwenson)
Kerry A. Flynn, CLP
Betsy P. Frawley and James M. Litton
Ellen Feldberg Gordon and Michael Gordon
Ann-Ellen Hornidge, Esq., and Ned Murphy
Alexa Kimball, MD, MPH, and Ranch Kimball
Thomas Lynch, Jr., MD, and Laura Pappano
Pamela Mann and David Baron, MD
Dick Marks and Jennifer Morrison
Joyce A. Murphy
Jeff and Brenda Sánchez
Audrey and Michael Straight
Kathy and Tony Starr
The Sherman H. Starr Family Foundation
Rev. Judith Swahnberg and Carl Novotny
Naomi Weinberg and Ted Berk
Marilyn K. Yager
Ellen and Peter Zane

view past dinner details

Questions?  |  617.724.4746

Go to top of page