NCCY Award

Celebrating Extraordinary Acts of Compassion

About the National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year Award

The National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year (NCCY) Award is a national recognition program that elevates excellence in compassionate healthcare. Since 1999, the Schwartz Center for Compassionate Healthcare has honored outstanding healthcare professionals who display extraordinary devotion and compassion in caring for patients and families. The award recognizes those who make a profound difference through their unmatched dedication to compassionate, collaborative care.

Award finalists are chosen by a national review committee, which includes past award recipients, in collaboration with representatives from the American Cancer Society, American Diabetes Association and American Heart Association/American Stroke Association.

American Cancer Society Logo (PRNewsFoto/Live Nation Entertainment)

Each year, the award recipient and finalists are honored before an audience of 2,000 caregivers and healthcare executives at the Annual Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner in Boston. In 2015, award-winning author Dr. Atul Gawande, served as the dinner’s featured speaker.

The NCCY Award is made possible through the generous support of Optum, Modern Healthcare, and Novo Nordisk.


NCCY Award Benefits

NCCYSCFBSplashPage_Thea_BannerHealthcare professionals are nourished and re-energized when they know they are appreciated. It takes just a few minutes to nominate someone, but it can have a lasting impact on their life and on the lives of caregivers and patients across the country. The NCCY Award also includes the following benefits:

  • Acknowledgement of excellence in compassionate health care
  • National recognition of the caregiver’s organization
  • $5,000 award and all expenses-paid travel to award celebration in Boston

Learn more about the NCCY Award nomination criteria.

You can also say thank you to a special caregiver through a donation to the Schwartz Center as part of the Honor Your Caregiver movement and give others the opportunity to experience the compassion you did. We will in turn send a certificate on your behalf to honor this caregiver for everyday acts of compassion.

2016 NCCY Award Finalists

Congratulations to the 2016 National Compassionate Caregiver of the Year (NCCY) Award finalists! These finalists represent healthcare professionals who make a profound difference through their unmatched dedication to compassionate, collaborative care. The award recipient will be announced on Nov. 15, 2016 at the 21st Annual Kenneth B. Schwartz Compassionate Healthcare Dinner. The recipient will receive a $5,000 award, and have the opportunity to share their perspective on compassion in healthcare. The five finalists will receive $1,000 each.

  • Randi Kaplan, LMSW, of Montefiore Health System in Bronx, New York
  • Shieva Khayam-Bashi, MD, of Zuckerberg San Francisco General Hospital in San Francisco, California
  • David Pascoe, MA, BCC, of Primary Children’s Hospital in Salt Lake City, Utah
  • Allissa Randazzo, BSN, RN, of Aspen House Memory Care Assisted Living in Loveland, Colorado
  • Vincent Waite, MD, MPH, of Greater Lawrence Family Health Center in Lawrence, Massachusetts
  • The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center – Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute (OSUCCC – James) Medical Intensive Care Unit (MICU) in Columbus, Ohio



Past Award Recipients & Finalists

NCCY Award recipients and finalists come from many walks of life, but all have one thing in common: they believe that compassion is great healthcare.


Meet our past award recipients and finalists:

If you have questions about the award, please contact